Gordon Hunter – Sponsored Natural Body Builder

Gordon Hunter Sponsored Natural Body Builder

Gordon Hunter Sponsored Natural Body Builder

At only 24 years of age Gordon has already accomplished far more than most personal trainers and athletes manage in their own lifetime! Starting his interest in fitness back when he was just 16 Gordon’s spent his years looking after his own body then moving forward and launching a very successful personal training business in West Lothian. Here’s his story and how he has moved up the ranks competing in many championships and lifting titles along the way.

: What got you into fitness?
As a child growing up I was always very active, I played football from an early age and I also took part in karate and various other sports.

: What age where you when you started fitness training?
I got into gym fitness when I was 16 years old, my mum signed me up at my local gym to keep me from hanging about the streets getting into bother. It worked!

: What weight were you when you first started working out?
I was around 10 stone when I started.

: What was your reason for starting?
I wanted to “bulk up” and increase my strength on the football field. I was an attacker and I often found myself getting pushed off the ball too easy because of my light frame. I started to work with a personal trainer to help me achieve my goal. After a few sessions with the trainer I then realised this is what I wanted to do as a career, a personal trainer so off to college I went to learn my trade.

: What type of fitness training do you do?
I typically do resistance training 3 to 4 times per week using a variety of equipment such as free weights, fixed weights, bodyweight and kettlebells. I prefer a hybrid style weight training approach to my training sessions. I often start off my gym workouts with a heavy compound exercise working the primary muscle groups, focusing on improving strength on that particular exercise. As the session progresses I change my focus to developing the secondary muscle group by performing isolation exercises.

: How many competitions have you competed in?
I have taken part in 3 natural bodybuilding competitions so far, having competed at both the Scottish and British level.

: What has been your biggest achievement so far?
Winning the BNBF Junior Mr Scotland title in 2011.

: What types of food do you eat when dieting for a competition?
My competition diet consists of food I typically eat on a normal daily basis i.e. chicken, eggs, nuts, steak, oats, rice, sweet potato, broccoli, spinach and some fruit. The only difference between my normal eating and my competition preparation is I eliminate all dairy food sources and most sugars.

: What are your plans for the near future?
I plan to take the stage again in May 2014 competing in the UKDFBA Scottish Championships in my hometown Livingston.

: What style of training are you doing at the moment?
I am currently following a 4 day split…

Mon: Back
Tue: Legs & Abs
Wed: Rest
Thu: Chest Shoulders
Fri: Arms & Abs
Sat: Rest
Sun: Rest

We are looking forward to working with Gordon in 2014 and supporting him in competitons across the UK.

Be sure to check out the Energize Scotland website at www.energizescotland.co.uk and our Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/EnergizeScotland

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment